Verbal warfare through radical ideals

Voice Of The Voiceless


I recently took a personality test, based on a topic placed on my gaming community forums. The test is the ever popular “Keirsey Temperament Sorter” test that is designed to give you a better grasp on your archetypical persona. These different personalities range from a supervisor, to a teacher, to an inventor. A fairly widespread, and vast array of different types of people, based on an even wider scale list of traits and thinking styles. When taking this test, the questions were nicely designed, and clear-cut. They were as simple as  “Do you doubt yourself”, all the way to much more complex questions such as “Moral questions are your prime concern”. Things that people may not necessarily always consider, but in my opinion are absolutely integral to a being on the whole. Once I was finished, I was astonished and at the same time not so surprised to learn of my results and accuracy of the details surrounding it. I am supposedly what is known as “ENFP”, or “The Champion”. I am one of four different idealist types. Observe the description.

Like the other Idealists, Champions are rather rare, say three or four percent of the population, but even more than the others they consider intense emotional experiences as being vital to a full life. Champions have a wide range and variety of emotions, and a great passion for novelty. They see life as an exciting drama, pregnant with possibilities for both good and evil, and they want to experience all the meaningful events and fascinating people in the world. The most outgoing of the Idealists, Champions often can’t wait to tell others of their extraordinary experiences. Champions can be tireless in talking with others, like fountains that bubble and splash, spilling over their own words to get it all out. And usually this is not simple storytelling; Champions often speak (or write) in the hope of revealing some truth about human experience, or of motivating others with their powerful convictions. Their strong drive to speak out on issues and events, along with their boundless enthusiasm and natural talent with language, makes them the most vivacious and inspiring of all the types.

Fiercely individualistic, Champions strive toward a kind of personal authenticity, and this intention always to be themselves is usually quite attractive to others. At the same time, Champions have outstanding intuitive powers and can tell what is going on inside of others, reading hidden emotions and giving special significance to words or actions. In fact, Champions are constantly scanning the social environment, and no intriguing character or silent motive is likely to escape their attention. Far more than the other Idealists, Champions are keen and probing observers of the people around them, and are capable of intense concentration on another individual. Their attention is rarely passive or casual. On the contrary, Champions tend to be extra sensitive and alert, always ready for emergencies, always on the lookout for what’s possible.

Champions are good with people and usually have a wide range of personal relationships. They are warm and full of energy with their friends. They are likable and at ease with colleagues, and handle their employees or students with great skill. They are good in public and on the telephone, and are so spontaneous and dramatic that others love to be in their company. Champions are positive, exuberant people, and often their confidence in the goodness of life and of human nature makes good things happen.

Which brings me to my question for tonight. After viewing what this statement says, I have to ask myself am I a suitable threat to society? Is my ideology, and set of worldviews more hazardous to the people around me than the ever-growing wave of media-fueled imagery that has created so many thought patterns of unhealthy nature? Are my individual thoughts perhaps as poisonous as the propaganda that is spread every day by politicians and our own government to bring people into a stupefied panic over insignificant events that have no relevance to the subject they are trying to mask? Is the person with the pen truly mightier than the sword? Can the role of a leader in my group come to influence dozens, hundreds, or even thousands? I always try to impress upon my members and friends a sense that no matter what direction I sway, that it is important they always make their own decisions. It seems for the most part they do tend to agree with me, but are they agreeing with me because they understand my point of view with a sense of clarity, or simply because of a fond brotherhood that we’ve established prior to our debate?

I’d like to think that I stress enough as is, the fact that being an individual far surpasses the needs of others. You must always come to create your own ideas, and never stop asking questions. To take a “leader” and question them is the ultimate test of their abilities. If they truly are a “champion” as the role is titled, not only would they be capable of producing a valid argument; they’d also have an adequate amount of reasoning and logical explanations behind their argument. To not do so, is self-destructive. It’s creating facts to suit theories, which is an unhealthy and distasteful way to establish your presence.

It’s now that I must ask myself;

Am I a good role-model, and morally acceptable leader for my group? For the most part, they seem content with my leadership and organizational abilities. They seem to take my words as guidance, and form their own opinions just fine like the leaders I know most of them to be. But, where down the line do I actually come into play as an influential person?  Have I done damage that is counter-productive to their social existence, or have I altered the state of their worldview until I shape a fundamental alienation from what they thought they knew? It’s the ideas such as that, which cause me to ponder whether or not I should be striving to better myself as a human being, or if they recognize my flaws for what they are and don’t follow suit because of the already irrelevant role I play in their lives. (not to mention their much less filthy moral compasses)

Whatever this answer may be, “Champions” such as myself and others around me who function in the same manner must realize that our ideas DO shape things around us, that we do affect those we encounter, and only we can make the right decisions that way others who might not be as strong don’t fall prey to the misleading ideas

“To lead the people, walk behind them.” ~ Lao Tzu

-Jake

5 responses

  1. It seems like it pretty much has you pegged, for the most part. I am kind of sad because I also took it and answered as honestly as possible and it wasn’t even close 😦

    April 30, 2011 at 8:10 AM

  2. Sorry I’m retarded sometimes… I somehow managed to be looking at a different result for something entirely different. I got INFJ

    April 30, 2011 at 2:19 PM

  3. That’s more than selnibse! That’s a great post!

    January 6, 2015 at 3:17 AM

Leave a Reply

