Verbal warfare through radical ideals

My Negation


The people have spoken, and now I will begin on a personal issue I have had lately, which has been irritating me. Thank you all for your votes, and as long as you continue to read I will not drop the metaphorical pen.

I am the pinnacle of morally encompassing action.

At least, that is the message that I’ve been receiving from people lately. This year, above all years it seems is the time where it has not only become a worthy cause to become analytical of the group of people around you; it has become trendy to band-wagon a group of titles that way there’s no chance for group-think to die. I’ve become the target of such a new trend to the degree to where I’ve almost moved forward out of realm of “giving a fuck”, which as it turns out is an incredibly comfortable place to be. If their goal was to desensitize me from even remotely caring about their wants, they’re well on their way to getting exactly what they want.  It’s not as if I’ve never dealt with annoying bullshit such as this before. No, that goes without saying that it is a vicious cycle that repeats every so often. I grow weary with being on the cross for it however though, and have decided that while I can be made an acceptable target for it when I deserve it; I will no longer be tolerating it until it is explained why it seems I’ve been deemed the last “Human” on Earth.

According to the waters surrounding my island, I am a “two-faced, hypocritical asshole”. Since I wouldn’t want to dissuade  people from believing this, I won’t deny it. I can be a little two-faced. This is usually when it becomes evident that not only is there a sense of dissent in the air, but disloyalty. Whether you want to title it the same thing or not is irrelevant. There’s a distinct line between the two, and it must be recognized. I’m not angry at dissent, and I encourage people to show it with respect. I’m not talking about the simple idea of whispers beyond the ears of those who need not hear. I’m talking an “in your face” full frontal contradiction of every idea of yours because it is your idea and not because there is something wrong with the idea itself. Therefore, to a certain degree I have every reason to become a little defensive when it is brought before me as if everyone is in general consensus about something that they truly aren’t. That’s what people do when they are afraid to engage me in conversation over a topic. When they feel as if they have people backing them, they feel more comfortable for some reason. (Even when the people are imaginary). I’ve been told by someone, that whenever something is brought to me I either disregard it or become angry and use it against the person who brought the so-called “issue” to me. I find this to not only be funny, but also extremely insulting because not only do I give people a chance to explain themselves, I usually allow them to do it publicly as well just in case they actually are attempting to combat my ideas rather than simply offer an alternative. Which chances are if they were sent to me by this person, it has already become a personal ordeal and I need do nothing more to receive subliminal hostility. This brings me to the point to where I don’t have to be two-faced, even if I can be. By the time anything is brought to me, or anybody actually approaches me I’m already wearing the mantle; whatever follows their preliminary image is secondary and all they have to do is go back and report that “oh yes he’s a close-minded dick”, or say nothing at all and just let hatred build up until they explode and call it a justified burst of rage.

Secondly, the word hypocrite. This is one of my favorites of all time. Not only do I carry around the “two-faced” title around; the wonderfully blown out of proportion archetype of the “hypocrite” now has settled at my front door. Not only has it settled; it has become such a common word to be tossed around that I’m having serious doubts as to whether or not the people using it have the slightest notion as to the definition of the word itself. Once again, of course I can be a hypocrite. I recently had to re-recognize this when it was brought me by a close friend of mine who I actually have done damage to. To be able to contradict a single thought in someone’s entire arsenal of thought processes is a difficult thing to dodge, and in fact is one of the few traits that humans can count on to separate them from the animal kingdom. It happens everyday, multiple times sometimes. People do things that aren’t in unison with their ideology, or do it to avoid being embarrassed, angered, or injured in some form or fashion quite often. Hypocrisy happens without second thought, and has been considered one of the most important factors to consider integral to a human, according to Carl Jung.

C. G. Jung a few times referred to the hypocrisy of people who are not aware of the dark or shadow-side of their nature.

Every individual needs revolution, inner division, overthrow of the existing order, and renewal, but not by forcing them upon his neighbors under the hypocritical cloak of Christian love or the sense of social responsibility or any of the other beautiful euphemisms for unconscious urges to personal power (Jung, 1966:5).

It is under all circumstances an advantage to be in full possession of one’s personality, otherwise the repressed elements will only crop up as a hindrance elsewhere, not just at some unimportant point, but at the very spot where we are most sensitive. If people can be educated to see the shadow-side of their nature clearly, it may be hoped that they will also learn to understand and love their fellow-men better. A little less hypocrisy and a little more self-knowledge can only have good results in respect for our neighbor; for we are all too prone to transfer to our fellows the injustice and violence we inflict upon our own natures (Jung, 1966:par. 28).

What could be more natural? However healthy it is though, and however common it may be in every single human on the planet; it makes not one bit of difference to those who have labeled me as such. In the words of a friend of mine, “It is because I am so outspoken on so many levels that it is easy to pinpoint my hypocrisy”. Therefore the people around me who are busy putting me on the cross aren’t innocent; they’ve simply learned how to shut the fuck up and hide behind the shroud of distrust known as anonymity. The less you know, the less that can be brought to use against you. A useful, and yet disgustingly deceitful way to be able to protect one’s own image and reputation (for what that’s worth).

I understand I’m the leader of this gaming community. I understand that to a certain degree I have some influence over a few people. What these people need to drill into their fucking head, is that I don’t have THAT much sway in any decision. There’s a very thin layer of influence I have over anyone, and 9 times out of 10 if I say something to somebody regarding my feelings towards something, whether you want to believe it or not I do receive a large amount of counter-argument. They don’t agree with me because I’m 100% correct. If it’s a large issue, they usually tend to sway my way because YOU look like a melodramatic idiot, who is simply trying to play the pity card to make it seem as if you’ve somehow had your fragile ego damaged because of a loss of words on a subject. That doesn’t qualify the whole group to fall into a “circle of the tyrant”, and it doesn’t mean that they’ve all caught illogical fever. It means you’ve created an idea that is unsupported and you should re-evaluate it. You’re no better than anyone else. Regardless of what false certainty you’ve decided to use to sustain your image, you’re just as capable of hypocrisy as anyone else, and you do it regularly. Just because you decide to negate your actions while you’re lurking elsewhere does not qualify you to coach anyone else while you are within ear-shot.

So, to all of you lately who have presented me with the costume of the mascot of hypocrisy, get the fuck over it. I understand you’re right, and so does everyone else. The problem is that the people who already knew it, called me on it a long time ago and have stopped trying to make a band-wagon issue of it. Either bring your point up, and try to do something to correct the issue with communication, or go back to hiding behind your deceitful wall of contentment. I want to hear your specific grievances, and I want the ugly truth behind it with a book of examples. I don’t want your vagaries of perception, and I’m not interested in hypersensitive illusions of moral reasoning.

 If you allow it to sink to that level, I won’t hear of it anymore. You’ve already proven that obviously you’re not working on a level of mutual respect; the last thing I’m going to care about is the bitching behind closed doors. I’m not Julius Caesar, and I refuse to be treated like him. I’m a human, and it’s time you started recognizing that.

-Hypocrite

(Sorry, I meant Jake.)

7 responses

  1. When did you give me the chance to explain myself yesterday before you shut me down?

    April 13, 2011 at 5:46 PM

  2. No, I know it isn’t. I wasn’t trying to be obtuse by asking that, it’s just you wrote in your post:

    I find this to not only be funny, but also extremely insulting because not only do I give people a chance to explain themselves, I usually allow them to do it publicly as well just in case they actually are attempting to combat my ideas rather than simply offer an alternative.

    I guess that since you used that as a blanket for your general demeanor in terms of handling potential disagreements, I was just wondering how that factored into my situation. It was a 100% genuine question, I wasn’t trying to be bitchy so no need to be ‘wtf?’.

    April 13, 2011 at 7:26 PM

  3. Well the email I sent yesterday afternoon explains it pretty well… maybe I was unclear?

    April 13, 2011 at 8:34 PM

  4. It is always interesting to read people’s thoughts on art blogs. I think it is a good way to share information between us artists and give us exposure. I recommend you to visit my blog at http://segmation.wordpress.com/2011/04/19/3-ways-that-artists-can-benefit-from-blogging/ and share ideas. Also, thanks for allowing me to comment!

    April 19, 2011 at 2:27 PM

Leave a Reply

